Upper North Annual General Meeting


A large crowd attended the AGM for Upper North on 14 November at the Turramurra Uniting Church.

Grahame Marr (Upper North President) welcomed all members and extended a special welcome to Sydney U3A Vice-President (Education Ian Thompson). Beverley Peken President, Sydney U3A, was unable to attend and sent her apologies.

Grahame thanked the Upper North Committee for their excellent work throughout the year. He also gave special thanks to Roger Link and Gerald Sabel for their continued technical and creative expertise. He wished Roger a speedy recovery from his recent operation. He also gave thanks to two committee members who are retiring this year after many years of worthy service, Doug Milne and Liz McAllister. Doug (a U3A Life Member) has been an outstanding member of the Upper North committee over many years, acting in a number of roles including President. Liz has been a wonderful Treasurer for six years. They will both be missed for their expertise and loyalty. Grahame presented Doug and Liz with leaving gifts.

Outgoing Treasurer, Liz McAllister reported that the Upper North Region had a good year financially in 2016 and kept within budget.

Committee member and statistician, Barbara Sabel then gave an excellent analysis of her statistical information she has compiled on Sydney U3A.

Pauline Holbrook gave an informative talk on the history of U3A and a preview of some of the new courses for 2017.

Margot Taverne, as returning officer, confirmed the election of the new Upper North committee.

The 2017 committee is as following

Grahame Marr, President

Josephine Lead, Treasurer

Marilyn Prior, Secretary

Claudine Parr, Events officer

Barbara Sabel, Statistician

Sue Shaw, Publicity officer, newsletter and Web editor

Pauline Holbrook, Course co-ordinator

Roslyn Markham, Committee member and venue co-ordinator

Alan Barge, Committee member and past president

Margot Taverne then read out a poem she had written about the pleasure of joining U3A

Grahame then announced that lunch would be served and thanked committee members, especially Marilyn Prior and Claudine Parr for organising the refreshments.